Super Trouper

In 2009, a bunch of us tested out a programme in a primary school in Singapore. We were wondering how to get a group of girls to write their own stories and poetry and perform. These were girls who would not even speak up in class. In 5 sessions, all 50 girls wrote poetry and read to a crowd of 200. And in that one moment of knowing we stumbled onto a very very precious key, one that had enabled the girls to unlock themselves –  The Spoken Word found its name and gave us voice.

In the November production, I chose this song as the backdrop. I wanted to tell the girls that each time they feel any performance anxiety, there’s always someone in the crowd who loves what they do and that they should gather strength and shine like stars, from just that one spark of love. We played the song 3 days in a row from 9am to 3pm. It was a blast and I had 3 days of high fever after the production.

I didn’t know I was listening to this song so much so that now my daughter (6+) and son (2+) have learnt it too. Super Trouper is on repeat, sometimes as many as 5 times, in our car stereo. And each time, we would jig and collapse into giggles as we point to one another – ’cause somewhere in the crowd….there’s you.’

I’m thinking yeah – a Spoken Word Festival at Moonriver Lodge – what stars and fairy lights!

SUPER TROUPER

I was sick and tired of everything
When I called you last night from Glasgow
All I do is eat and sleep and sing
Wishing every show was the last show
So imagine I was glad to hear you’re coming
Suddenly I feel all right
And it’s gonna be so different
When I’m on the stage tonight

Tonight the
Super Trouper lights are gonna find me
Shining like the sun
Smiling, having fun
Feeling like a number one

Super Trouper
Beams are gonna blind me
But I won’t feel blue
Like I always do
’cause somewhere in the crowd there’s you

Facing twenty thousand of your friends
How can anyone be so lonely
Part of a success that never ends
Still I’m thinking about you only
There are moments when I think I’m going crazy
But it’s gonna be alright
Everything will be so different
When I’m on the stage tonight

So I’ll be there when you arrive
The sight of you will prove to me I’m still alive
And when you take me in your arms
And hold me tight
I know it’s gonna mean so much tonight

 Tonight the
Super Trouper lights are gonna find me
Shining like the sun
Smiling, having fun
Feeling like a number one

Super Trouper
Beams are gonna blind me
But I won’t feel blue
Like I always do
’cause somewhere in the crowd there’s you

-ABBA

One thought on “Super Trouper

  1. Fantastic Idea!! I agree with the power of the spoken word too. Great no fantastic blog! Think I will try the same song with my kids in the car xx Super Trooper — its the best!

Leave a Reply

